We are not currently taking web orders. We encourage you to contact your local bookshop for our titles.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
July New Books and Giveaway

It’s July. We are now officially halfway through 2021. Or possibly in the nineteenth month of 2020 –  hard to be sure. But one thing we are sure of is that we have a brilliant selection of titles to help make the winter days race by. Read on for more about this month’s books, including details of how you can win a copy of each. 


Rainfish by Andrew Paterson

Winner of the 2020 Text Prize, Rainfish is a humorous and poignant middle-grade story about a young boy grappling with guilt after stealing from the local church.

‘I was swept away by this stunning, swampy tale of the loneliness that comes with a guilty conscience. An absolutely unforgettable book.’ Carly Nugent, author of The Peacock Detectives


The Bride of Almond Tree
by Robert Hillman

Set against the backdrop of the catastrophic mid-twentieth century, a Quaker falls in love with a communist in this extraordinary novel about loyalty, idealism and belief.

‘Adds heft to the distinguished fiction of rural Australia.’ Australian on The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted

Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand by Nic Low

Nic Low maps the Southern Alps of New Zealand, following in the footsteps of his Māori ancestors. Uprising is about walking as a form of knowing and about unlocking the stories in the land – but it is also a gripping adventure.

‘There’s a bristling, playful energy to Nic Low’s writing…the narrative fairly pulses along at a cracking pace with unexpected detours.’ Age on Arms Race


The Burning Island by Jock Serong
NEW FORMAT

A historical seafaring adventure with a father–daughter relationship at its heart, now in an appealing new format. 

The Burning Island starts out as a crime thriller involving a search for a missing ship and a quest for revenge [and]…turns into something much more.’ Australian Book Review

Things Are Against Us by Lucy Ellmann

A scorching new collection of essays from the Booker-shortlisted author of Ducks, Newburyport.

‘Ellmann is an expert juggler with words. Her satire is deft, sophisticated and enchantingly surreal.’ Sunday Telegraph



Tunneling to the Center of the Earth
by Kevin Wilson

Published in Australia for the first time, this dazzling and imaginative debut short-story collection is perfect for fans of George Saunders and Kelly Link.

‘[A] lively, inventive book…Wilson offers fabulous twists and somersaults of the imagination.’ New York Times


I Am the Tiger by John Ajvide Lindqvist
Translated by Marlaine Delargy

This unnerving and ingenious page-turner – part supernatural horror, part crime – is John Ajvide Lindqvist’s most twisted thriller yet.

‘As imaginative and brilliant as any of Stephen King’s famous stories…Eerie and compelling.’ Canberra Weekly on I Am Behind You



For your chance to win one of our amazing July new releases, visit our Facebook page and tell us which one you would like and why.

The competition is open to AU/NZ residents only. Entries close 23:59 AEST Friday 9 July. Winners will be notified via Facebook (one book per person only).

FRIENDS OF THE CHILLER

Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Culture Mulcher

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review

Killings

Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog

Reading Tree

ReadPlus

Scribe News

Speculating on SpecFic

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums

SUBSCRIBE TO TEXT'S NEWSLETTER