WEB ORDERS ARE NOW CLOSED – we regret that we have had to suspend web orders until the Covid-19 social distancing precautions are no longer necessary.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty

Upcoming Events

Fiona Murphy and Jessica White in Conversation (Online)

Join Jessica White and Fiona Murphy as they discuss Fiona's memoir, The Shape of Sound, for Avid Reader online.

Secrets are heavy, burdensome things. Imagine carrying a secret that if exposed could jeopardise your chances of securing a job and make you a social outcast. Fiona Murphy kept her deafness a secret for over twenty-five years.

Blending memoir with observations on the healthcare industry, The Shape of Sound is a story about the corrosive power of secrets, stigma and shame, and how deaf experiences and disability are shaped by economics, social policy, medicine and societal expectations.

This is the story of how Fiona learns to listen to her body. If you enjoy the writing of Bri Lee and Fiona Wright, this is a book for you.

This is a free online event. Please register via the link below.

More information and bookings
right
Launch: Girl, 11 by Amy Suiter Clarke (VIC)

Join R. W. R. McDonald and Amy Suiter Clarke to launch Amy’s unmissable debut novel, Girl, 11.

In this thrilling debut for fans of Karin Slaughter and Riley Sager, a social worker turned true-crime podcaster investigates a decades-old serial killer cold case—only to unwittingly create new victims.

Former social worker Elle Castillo is the host of a popular true-crime podcast that tackles cold cases of missing children in her hometown. After four seasons of successful investigations, Elle decides to tackle her white whale: the Countdown Killer, TCK. Will she be able to stop TCK before it’s too late?

This event is free to attend but bookings are essential as places are strictly limited.

More information and bookings
right
Sarah Sentilles with Charlotte Wood

Join Draw Your Weapons author Sarah Sentilles and The Weekend novelist Charlotte Wood for an online conversation about Sentilles’s new memoir, Stranger Care: A Memoir of Loving What Isn’t Ours.

Stranger Care is the moving story of what one woman learned from fostering a newborn—about injustice, about making mistakes, about how to better love and protect people beyond our immediate kin.

After their decision not to have a biological child,  Sentilles and her husband decide to adopt via the foster care system. Despite knowing that the system’s goal is the child’s reunification with the birth family, Sentilles opens their home to a flurry of social workers who question them, evaluate them, and ultimately prepare them to welcome a child into their lives—even if it means most likely having to give the child back. After years of starts and stops, and endless navigation of the complexities and injustices of the foster care system, a phone call finally comes: a three-day-old baby girl named Coco, in immediate need of a foster family. Sentilles and her husband bring this newborn stranger home.  

More information and bookings
right
Launch: Elsewhere Girls by Emily Gale and Nova Weetman (VIC)

Join us to launch Elsewhere Girls by Emily Gale and Nova Weetman in the Community Room at Bargoonga Njanjin.

For more information and tickets, please click here.

This is a free event but bookings are essential.

More information and bookings
right
Emily Spurr at the Wheeler Centre’s Next Big Thing

At Melbourne’s Wheeler Centre May Next Big Thing event, step inside the stories and experiences of four writers whose work explores very different realms. 

Emily Spurr’s novel A Million Things ruminates on the secrets houses and families can conceal, Veronica Heritage-Gorrie’s memoir Black and Blue offers an insider’s perspective on justice, racism and the police force; Sam van Zweden’s Eating With My Mouth Open digests the personal and cultural aspects of food and bodies and Sar Fegan’s piece ‘Root Rot’, published in the latest issue of Voiceworks, is a personal dissection of the realities and flaws of the medical system.

Join these writers and the Wheeler Centre at the Moat restaurant and bar to explore these physical, emotional and structural spaces: their ins, outs and in-betweens.

More information and bookings
right
Krissy Kneen with Beejay Silcox at Avid Reader

Join Krissy Kneen, in conversation with Beejay Silcox, for the launch of The Three Burials of Lotty Kneen.

In her 2010 memoir, Affection, Krissy Kneen introduced readers to her unique family and the towering matriarchal figure of her grandmother. Stern, domineering, fiercely loving, Lotty Kneen—born Dragica—was always tight-lipped about her early life and family history. She rebuffed Krissy’s curiosity and forbade her from taking the trip back to the old country that might have satisfied it.

When her grandmother died recently, Krissy finally felt at liberty to explore the questions that had nagged at her for so long. In The Three Burials of Lotty Kneen Krissy sets out with a box containing her grandmother’s ashes, intending to trace the old woman’s early life in Slovenia and Egypt, and perhaps locate some remnants of family. Along the way she uncovers the extraordinary story of the colony of Slovene women who became the nannies of choice for the wealthy Italians of pre-war Alexandria — and identifies as best she can the places where Lotty’s restless, demanding spirit will be at peace.

Please click here to register - instore tickets are limited.

More information and bookings
right
Peter Singer in conversation with Ramona Koval at Readings St Kilda

Readings are thrilled to celebrate the new edition of one of the world’s oldest novels - Apuleius’ The Golden Ass, now edited by renowned Australian philosopher Peter Singer in our beautiful Readings St Kilda shop.

The Golden Ass is a rollicking, erotic adventure story about a young man who is transformed into a donkey. Singer presents this novel as not just an entertaining story, but also an incredibly insightful example of ancient empathy for animals and their suffering. This is a wonderful opportunity to hear Peter Singer talk about ethics and empathy and the importance of both.

Peter will be in conversation with Ramona Kovalwriter, journalist, broadcaster and editor. Her most recent book is A Letter to Layla.

This event is free to attend but bookings are essential as places are strictly limited.

More information and bookings
right
Garry Disher: Books and Ideas at Montalto

Described by the Sydney Morning Herald as the ‘quiet giant of Australian crime fiction, Garry Disher has written over fifty books and is the recipient of many awards, including the 2018 Ned Kelly Lifetime Achievement Award. Among his works are the seven books (and counting) in the popular Peninsula Crimes series, set on the Mornington Peninsula – where Disher himself lives.

What draws him to this darkest of genres? What inspires his tales of gothic secrets lurking beneath the sunny surface of the coastal community? Join Disher over lunch on the Mornington Peninsula at Montalto, as he discusses his extensive career – including his most recent book, Consolation.

More information and bookings
right
Hugh Breakey with Claire Christian

Join celebrated philosopher Hugh Breakey for the launch of his debut novel, The Beautiful Fall, a cinematic, page-turning romance.

Hugh will be joined by fellow Brisbane writer Claire Christian, the beloved novelist of last year’s feel-good romance It’s Been A Pleasure, Noni Blake, to launch The Beautiful Fall 

Breakey’s leadingman Robbie suffers from recurring memory loss. To cope, he leads a solitary, regimented life and speaks to no one if he can avoid it.

Until Julie invades his life. Beautiful, young — theonly woman he can ever remember meeting.

Hugh is a Senior Research Fellow in ethics and moral philosophy at Griffith University. He is married to New York Times betselling romance novelist Kylie Scott.

Claire is a storyteller. A playwright, author, theatre maker and facilitator. Her first novel Beautiful Mess won the Text Prize in 2017. Her play Lysa and the Freeborn Dames debuted at La Boite Theatre in 2018 and is published by Playlab. She’s had the great joy of directing Michelle Law’s smash hit play Single Asian Female since 2017. Her latest novel, It’s Been A Pleasure, Noni Blake, a contemporary adult romance, was released in October 2020 by Text Publishing

 

 

More information and bookings
right
Krissy Kneen with Rachel Edwards (Hobart)

In The Three Burials of Lotty Kneen Krissy sets out with a box containing her grandmother’s ashes, intending to trace the old woman’s early life in Slovenia and Egypt, and perhaps locate some remnants of family.

Along the way she uncovers the extraordinary story of the colony of Slovene women who became the nannies of choice for the wealthy Italians of pre-war Alexandria —and identifies as best she can the places where Lotty’s restless, demanding spirit will be at peace.

Krissy will be joined in conversation by Transportation Press publisher and features reporter with ABC Hobart, Rachel Edwards. Join them in the Stables Room at the RACV Hotel.

Book your tickets here.

More information and bookings
right