Member Loginmenu
March New Books and Giveaway

If there’s someone you’ve forgotten to say ‘Happy New Year’ to, we’re afraid you’ll have to wait until 2023. We’re in March, now, and the year is well and truly underway – as is our ongoing supply of top-quality books. Read on for more about this month’s new releases, including details of how you could win a copy of each.


The Novel Project: A Step-By-Step Guide to Your Novel, Memoir or Biography  
by Graeme Simsion

A practical and highly entertaining step-by-step guide to writing a publishable book, The Novel Project offers an inside scoop on the entire writing process, from premise to proofreading, from the bestselling author of The Rosie Project.

‘Writing is easy: all you do is sit staring at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead.’ Gene Fowler on how NOT to write a novel

Hideout: An Alice Vega Novel  
by Louisa Luna

A riveting new thriller from the author of Two Girls Down. Hideout follows dynamic investigative duo Alice Vega and Max Caplan as they uncover a terrifyingly real network of American white supremacists and homegrown terrorists.

‘Alice Vega is sensational – I want to see lots more of her.’ Lee Child

My Accidental Career  
by Brenda Niall

Australia’s leading biographer, Brenda Niall, now in her nineties, turns the spotlight on her own story in this fascinating memoir of a remarkable life and career.

‘Brenda Niall is in a class of her own…Her books have all been works of insight and substance, their observations carefully considered.’ Michael McGirr, Age

Paradais          
by Fernanda Melchor
Translated by Sophie Hughes

The explosive, highly anticipated new novel by the author of Hurricane SeasonParadais​ explores the nature of Mexico’s brittle society, fractured by issues of race, class and violence.

‘Fernanda Melchor has a powerful voice, and by powerful I mean unsparing, devastating, the voice of someone who writes with rage, and has the skill to pull it off.’ Samanta Schweblin

The Fish           
by Lloyd Jones

From the Man Booker-shortlisted author of Mister Pip comes a fable-like story of a suburban family in 1950s New Zealand, as they adjust to the arrival of a new baby who is unlike any other.

‘New Zealand writer Lloyd Jones is a master storyteller.’ Weekend Australian

Growing Up in Flames  
by Zach Jones

Fans of Mark Smith and Vikki Wakefield will love this Australian young-adult debut that deftly tackles grief, belonging and mental illness.

‘The flames and fury of adolescence scorch every page. Try not to get burnt…’ Gary Crew, author of The Watertower


Those Kids from Fawn Creek    
by Erin Entrada Kelly

Every day in the small town of Fawn Creek is exactly the same – until Orchid Mason arrives. From Newbery medallist Erin Entrada Kelly comes a story about friendship, family, deception and being true to yourself.

‘Gripping, complex and reassuring. If you need to ditch other people’s expectations and reach for the stars, this book is for you!’ Emily Gale


For your chance to win one of our March new releases, visit our Facebook page and tell us which one you would like and why.

The competition is open to AU/NZ residents only. Entries close 23:59 AEST Friday 4 March. Winners will be notified via Facebook (one book per person only).

 

FRIENDS OF THE CHILLER

Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Culture Mulcher

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review

Killings

Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog

Reading Tree

ReadPlus

Scribe News

Speculating on SpecFic

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums

SUBSCRIBE TO TEXT'S NEWSLETTER