WEB ORDERS ARE NOW CLOSED – we regret that we have had to suspend web orders until the Covid-19 social distancing precautions are no longer necessary.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
January New Books and Giveaway

Welcome to 2021, the year directly following 2019. (That’s right, we’re refusing to recognise 2020 as a legitimate year. Look, it’s worth a try, isn’t it?) 

January is traditionally the time for ‘New Year, new you’ messages with books featuring all manner of diets, exercise programs, lifestyle choices and personal development strategies. Well, we don’t hold with that sort of talk round these parts. We recommend opening a novel, reading it until you’re finished and then opening another one. And our wonderful January new releases are perfectly suited to this regimen. What’s more, we’re giving away a copy of each – see below for details of how you could win.


Shelter by Catherine Jinks

In Catherine Jinks’ new thriller full of psychological suspense, one woman – a survivor of domestic abuse – offers shelter to another still fleeing from violence, with dangerous and chilling consequences. A gripping story that’s perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Mary Kubica.

‘A tense thriller…Shelter is an engrossing read that calls to be finished in one sitting.’ Books+Publishing


Two Women and a Poisoning by Alfred Döblin

A marriage gone horribly wrong; a secret female friendship and affair; a plot to commit murder. This fictionalised true story of Ellie Kelin and her lover Grete Nebbe, two young German women in the early twentieth century who hatched a plot to kill their husbands, is masterfully told by Alfred Döblin, one of the giants of twentieth-century German literature and author of Berlin Alexanderplatz.

‘One of the great anti-war novels of our time.’ Australian Book Review on Berlin Alexanderplatz

Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson
NEW FORMAT

Equal parts hilarious and compassionate, this New York Times bestseller is a heart-warming and blisteringly funny tale of family, friendship and fire.

‘Good lord, I can’t believe how good this book is.’ Taffy Brodesser-Akner, author of Fleishman Is in Trouble



The Death of Jesus by J. M. Coetzee
NEW FORMAT

In this extraordinary follow-up novel to The Childhood of Jesus and The Schooldays of Jesus, two-time Booker Prize winner and Nobel laureate J. M. Coetzee continues to explore the meaning of a world empty of memory but brimming with questions.

‘The book is a masterpiece, the near-perfect culmination of a trilogy that only Coetzee could write…[H]e is the world’s greatest living writer.’ Australian

 


For your chance to win one of our amazing January new releases, visit our Facebook page and tell us which one you would like and why.

The competition is open to AU/NZ residents only. Entries close 23:59 AEST Friday 8 January. Winners will be notified via Facebook (one book per person only).

 

FRIENDS OF THE CHILLER

Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Culture Mulcher

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review

Killings

Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog

Reading Tree

ReadPlus

Scribe News

Speculating on SpecFic

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums

SUBSCRIBE TO TEXT'S NEWSLETTER