We are not currently taking web orders. We encourage you to contact your local bookshop for our titles.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
The Text Prize 2015 Shortlist Announcement
Text Prize logo

Four outstanding manuscripts have been selected from 268 entries to make up the shortlist for the $10,000 Text Prize, awarded annually to the best unpublished manuscript for teenagers and children.  

NEVERLAND by Margot McGovern
Seventeen-year-old Kit Learmonth would rather die than grow up and leave her family’s island, ‘Neverland’. An ambitious, complex story about memory, growing up and moving on.

Margot McGovern is a freelance writer and reviewer who contributes to a number of leading literary publications. She is a former associate editor of Ride On magazine and lives in Perth.

Agatha lands in a Catholic boarding school for girls after her mother falls ill and her father disappears. A compelling, modern exploration of adolescent sexuality and the emotional life of teenagers.

Sophie Overett is a cultural producer and writer in Brisbane. She was a Young Writer in Residence at the Katharine Susannah Prichard Writers Centre in 2014 and in 2015 is a Queensland Literary Fellow.

SOLSTICE by Mark Russell
Set on a planet that stopped rotating generations ago, where half the world lives in shadow, half in light, Solstice is an exciting, adventurous and original work of science fiction.

Mark Russell is a writer whose work has appeared in publications including Inside Film and the Canberra Times. Solstice was originally written as a screenplay, which won a Screen Australia Development Grant in 2010. He lives in Melbourne.

THE BOOK OF WHISPERS by Kimberley Starr
An imaginative and gripping historical fantasy novel set during the first Crusade, in a world where demons are real and gaining power, and almost no one can see them.

Kimberley Starr is a teacher and author based in Melbourne. Her debut novel, The Kingdom Where Nobody Dies, won the 2003 Queensland Premier’s Literary Award for Best Emerging Author.

The winner of the 2015 Text Prize will be announced on Thursday 28 May at an event in Melbourne.

Read more about the Text Prize here.

Text Prize Winners


    Andrew Paterson


    Georgina Young
    It Sounded Better in My Head

    It Sounded Better in My Head

    Nina Kenwood
    The Extremely Weird Thing that Happened in Huggabie Falls

    The Extremely Weird Thing that Happened in Huggabie Falls

    Adam Cece
    Beautiful Mess

    Beautiful Mess

    Claire Christian
    The Book of Whispers

    The Book of Whispers

    Kimberley Starr
    How to Be Happy

    How to Be Happy

    David Burton
    Zac & Mia

    Zac & Mia

    A. J. Betts
    Fire in the Sea

    Fire in the Sea

    Myke Bartlett
    The Billionaire's Curse

    The Billionaire’s Curse

    Richard Newsome
    The Bridge

    The Bridge

    Jane Higgins
    This Is Shyness

    This Is Shyness

    Leanne Hall


Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Culture Mulcher

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review


Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog

Reading Tree


Scribe News

Speculating on SpecFic

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums