Member Loginmenu
May New Books and Giveaway

As autumn slides into winter, and the country goes to the polls to elect a new government, it sometimes seems like the only thing that doesn’t change is the consistently high standard of books we bring you each month. Read on for more about May’s new releases, including details of how you could win a copy of each.


Unknown: A Refugee’s Story
by Akuch Kuol Anyieth

A moving, confronting and remarkable story of resilience and hope in the face of endless challenges. Akuch Kuol Anyieth and her family escaped war-torn South Sudan when she was five. They spent almost a decade in a refugee camp in Kenya before finally obtaining a family humanitarian visa for Australia. Unknown documents Akuch’s incredible journey.

‘Heartbreaking. Raw. Real. Unknown is the story every Australian needs to know.’ Michael Mohammed Ahmad, award-winning author of The Lebs

The Seamstress of Sardinia           
by Bianca Pitzorno
Translated by Brigid Maher

Set at the dawn of the twentieth century, The Seamstress of Sardinia follows a young girl as she grows into a woman, strives to educate herself and falls in love – always fighting for her independence in a world dominated by men and old social conventions. An immersive and vividly written historical novel perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

‘Pitzorno is one of the greatest Italian writers…[This] is an extraordinary novel.’ la Repubblica

Indelible City: Dispossession and Defiance in Hong Kong
by Louisa Lim

An award-winning journalist takes to the protest-riven streets of Hong Kong to write this landmark account of the island city’s complex past and precarious future. A definitive, essential history of Hong Kong, this book is also a personal account of the city’s identity, its people and the protests against Chinese control.

‘The best book about the indelible city to date. Irresistibly real and emotionally authentic, it shines with a shimmering light rarely seen in political narrative. A truly extraordinary elegy.’ Ai Weiwei
 

Yellow Notebook: Diaries Volume I 1978–1987
by Helen Garner
NEW FORMAT

The first volume of private diaries from the fearless, fierce and much-loved Helen Garner covers the years 1978 to 1987, and takes readers through Garner’s life following the publication of the seminal novel Monkey Grip. Now available in paperback.

‘A crafted work of autobiographical glimpses, acute observations and insights into the writer’s psyche…Her sentences sing with a strong, clear voice.’ Australian

The Believer: Encounters with Love, Death & Faith       
by Sarah Krasnostein
NEW FORMAT

With her trademark compassion, observational rigour and unique humanity, Sarah Krasnostein takes us into the lives of people who believe in something extraordinary, despite the odds. Now in a smaller format.

‘Krasnostein’s writing is lyrical and stylish, and imaginative in a way that often feels invigorating…A fascinating book, and one that asks big questions.’ Guardian

All the Little Tricky Things 
by Karys McEwen

A charming and heartfelt novel about taking on new challenges, dealing with change and growing up. Perfect for readers about to start secondary school, or those moving into a new stage in life.

‘A big warm hug of a book, tender and true. McEwen writes perceptively about the emotions of growing up and maybe growing apart from everything and everyone you’ve always known. I loved it.’ Danielle Binks

Slipping the Noose 
by Meg Caddy

This rollicking historical novel from young writer Meg Caddy takes us into the world of the real-life pirate Anne Bonny, picking up her story where history left off.

‘You spend most of the book cheering them on, furiously turning the pages…Great for readers of action-filled historical fiction.’ Books + Publishing on Devil’s Ballast

 


For your chance to win one of our May new releases, visit our Facebook page and tell us which one you would like and why.

The competition is open to AU/NZ residents only. Entries close 23:59 AEST Friday 6 May. Winners will be notified via Facebook (one book per person only).

FRIENDS OF THE CHILLER

Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Culture Mulcher

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review

Killings

Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog

Reading Tree

ReadPlus

Scribe News

Speculating on SpecFic

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums

SUBSCRIBE TO TEXT'S NEWSLETTER