Member Loginmenu
All the Little Tricky Things

It’s the start of the summer holidays and twelve-year-old Bertie is worried. Next year she’s going to a high school in the city, while all her friends stay behind in Merri, the small town she’s lived in all her life.

To help her feel better prepared for high school, her best friend, Claire, makes a list of tasks Bertie has to complete over the summer. They start working through the list together, only to find that some of the cracks in their friendship are beginning to show. Soon, Bertie’s not even sure she’ll have one friend by the end of the summer.

All the Little Tricky Things is a charming, heartfelt novel about a time when everything is changing, and a girl who’s trying to make sense of it all.


INTERVIEWS  and REVIEWS


Books + Publishing    
Paperbark Words    
Ranges Trader    

Karys McEwen
About the Author

Karys McEwen is the current president of the Victorian branch of the Children’s Book Council of Australia. She is also a school librarian, and she is passionate about the role libraries and literature play in the wellbeing of young people. She has been a columnist for Books+Publishing and her work has appeared in library journals such as Synergy...

Read Moreright
Extent:
192pp
Format:
Paperback
Text publication date:
3 May 2022
ISBN:
9781922458377
AU Price:
$14.99
NZ Price:
$17.99
Reading age:
8+
Australian
starstarstarstarstar
starstarstarstarstar
Loading Rating
Praise for Karys McEwen
andAll the Little Tricky Things

‘A sweet and hopeful slice of country-town life in the final summer before high school.’

‘A big warm hug of a book, tender and true. McEwen writes perceptively about the emotions of growing up and maybe growing apart from everything and everyone you’ve always known. I loved it.’

‘A warm, relatable and reassuring read, this book is a must for anyone embarking on secondary school.’

‘Karys McEwen’s prose is gorgeous and she deftly traverses the highs and lows of tweenhood with a rich cast of characters. Ideal for 8–12-year-olds, All the Little Tricky Things will appeal to fans of Maddie in the Middle and The Edge of Thirteen.

Other editions ofAll the Little Tricky Things