WEB ORDERS ARE NOW CLOSED – we regret that we have had to suspend web orders until the Covid-19 social distancing precautions are no longer necessary.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
The Spare Room on the Colin Roderick Award shortlist

The shortlist has been announced for the 2008 Colin Roderick Award and H. T. Priestley Medal.

The Colin Roderick Award is presented annually by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies, James Cook University, for ‘the best book published in Australia (in 2008) which deals with any aspect of Australian life.’

On the shortlist is Helen Garner’s The Spare Room.

There was a record number of submissions, and the judges commented on the exceptional standard of works in all categories—fiction, non‐fiction and poetry. The winner of the award will be announced at the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies' annual dinner on Tuesday 27 October, in Townsville. We wish Helen luck on the night, and offer our congratulations on yet another recognition for this remarkable novel.

The shortlist:

James Boyce, Van Diemen’s Land
Graham Freudenberg, Churchill and Australia
Helen Garner, The Spare Room
Robert Gray, The Land I Came Through Last
Shé Hawke, Depot Girl
Brian Matthews, Manning Clark: A Life
Christos Tsiolkas, The Slap

Judging Panel:

Professor Donat Gallagher
Professor Peter Pierce
Dr Stephen Torre


Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Culture Mulcher

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review


Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog

Reading Tree


Scribe News

Speculating on SpecFic

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums