SHOP NOW—free delivery anywhere in Australia

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
ALS Gold Medal shortlist announced—Congratulations Eva Hornung

Eva Hornung’s visceral novel Dog Boy has just received shortlisting for the ALS Gold Medal.

Hornung’s vivid telling of an abandoned boy’s struggle to survive Russia’s brutal urban environment, and intergrate with a pack of dogs is the definitive line on the timeless story of the child raised by beasts.

The ALS Gold Medal is awarded annually for an outstanding literary work in the preceding calendar year. The Medal was inaugurated by the Australian Literature Society, which was founded in Melbourne in 1899 and incorporated into the Association for the Study of Australian Literature in 1982.

The shortlist (in alphabetiucal order) is:

Emily Ballou, The Darwin Poems

Steven Carroll, The Lost Life

Eva Hornung, Dog Boy

Cate Kennedy, The World Beneath

David Malouf, Ransom