WEB ORDERS ARE NOW CLOSED – we regret that we have had to suspend web orders until the Covid-19 social distancing precautions are no longer necessary.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
A wrap of awards for the year—and some great gift ideas

With the year winding down, it is a great time to look back on all the fantastic books and authors that have won awards this year. They represent a truly diverse range of books and we warmly congratulate all the authors on their successes.

And, in case you are still seeking last minute gifts for Christmas, you’ll find something for everyone here.


Truth by Peter Temple, Winner 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award; ABIA General Fiction Book of the Year Award; Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards, Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction

Dog Boy by Eva Hornung, Winner 2010 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Fiction

Wyatt by Garry Disher, Winner 2010 Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Fiction

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead, Winner 2010 Newbery Medal, Winner 2010 Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards for Excellence in Children’s Literature

Genesis by Bernard Beckett, Winner 2010 Prix Sorcières Romans Adolescents

The Billionaire’s Curse by Richard Newsome, Winner 2010 LIANZA Children’s Book Awards, Esther Glen Award for ages 0-15

The Bridge by Jane Higgins, Winner 2010 Text Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing (to be published August 2011)

The Water Dreamers by Michael Cathcart, Winner 2009 Colin Roderick Award (awarded in 2010)

We Are the Weather Makers by Tim Flannery, Winner 2010 Santa Monica Public Library’s Green Prize for Sustainable Literature

The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating (available February 2011) by Elisabeth Tova Bailey, Winner 2010 National Outdoor Book Awards (US)


Tim Flannery (The Weather Makers, Here on Earth), Winner 2010 Joseph Leidy Award

Ron Rash (Serena, One Foot in Eden [to be published March 2011]), Winner 2010 Frank O’Connor Short Story Award

James McNeish (The Crime of Huey Dunstan) & Joy Cowley (Snake and Lizard), 2010 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement

J. M. Coetzee (Diary of a Bad Year), knighted in the Order of the Dutch Lion by The Royal Civilian Order of the Netherlands


Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Culture Mulcher

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review


Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog

Reading Tree


Scribe News

Speculating on SpecFic

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums