Member Loginmenu
Elizabeth Costello

Elizabeth Costello

J. M. Coetzee

  • awardShortlisted, Best Designed Series, Australian Book Design Awards, 2020
  • Introduction by Melinda Harvey

    Belief may be no more, in the end, than a source of energy, like a battery which one clips into an idea to make it run.

    Elizabeth Costello is a distinguished Australian author in her mid-sixties celebrated for a novel she wrote decades earlier. In a series of eight ‘lessons’—the transcripts of lectures and speeches—she examines such subjects as animal rights, evil and the afterlife. Published in 2003, Elizabeth Costello was the first book J. M. Coetzee published in his new home of Australia. With its blurring of the lines between fiction and non-fiction, its rigorous interrogation of weighty ideas and moments of bleak comedy, the novel issued a new and complex challenge to Coetzee’s readers.

    J. M. Coetzee
    About the Author

    J. M. Coetzee was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. His work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, The Master of Petersburg, Disgrace and Diary of a Bad Year. His most recent writing is a trilogy of novels: The Childhood of Jesus, The Schooldays of...

    Read Moreright
    About the Introducer

    Melinda Harvey is a lecturer in literary studies at Monash University, Melbourne. She has published widely as a book critic for over a decade and is a judge of the Miles Franklin Literary Award.

    Read Moreright
    Text publication date:
    4 August 2020
    AU Price:
    NZ Price:
    Loading Rating
    Praise for J. M. Coetzee
    andElizabeth Costello

    ‘An intimacy born from urgency crackles through each of [Coetzee’s] books, as if one is not reading a text but being plugged into a brand new form of current—reinvented each time to carry a new and urgent form of narrative information.’

    ‘Coetzee is the most radical shapeshifter alive.’

    ‘Freed from literary convention, Mr Coetzee writes not to provide answers, but to ask great questions.’

    Other editions ofElizabeth Costello
    • Elizabeth Costello
      ISBN: 9781925923094
      4 August 2020
      Buy ebook