Member Loginmenu


J. M. Coetzee

  • awardShortlisted, Best Designed Series, Australian Book Design Awards, 2020
  • Introduction by Laura Jean McKay

    You must listen. I speak with the voice of things to come. I speak in troubled times and tell you how to be as children again.

    J. M. Coetzee’s debut novel is actually two stunning novellas: ‘Vietnam Project’, about a researcher investigating US propaganda and psychological warfare in Vietnam; and ‘The Narrative of Jacobus Coetzee’, the story of an eighteenth-century Boer frontiersman and his quest for revenge on a local tribe. Both are concerned with power—who wields it, who is subject to it—and its often catastrophic consequences.

    J. M. Coetzee
    About the Author

    J. M. Coetzee was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. His work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, The Master of Petersburg, Disgrace and Diary of a Bad Year. His most recent writing is a trilogy of novels: The Childhood of Jesus, The Schooldays of...

    Read Moreright
    About the Introducer
    Read Moreright
    Text publication date:
    1 October 2019
    AU Price:
    NZ Price:
    Loading Rating
    Praise for J. M. Coetzee

    ‘Intense, clear and powerful. The promise, so brilliantly fulfilled in his later work, is clear in this earliest novel.’

    ‘Exhilarating…One of the best novelists alive.’

    ‘An intimacy born from urgency crackles through each of [Coetzee’s] books, as if one is not reading a text but being plugged into a brand new form of current—reinvented each time to carry a new and urgent form of narrative information…Coetzee is the most radical shapeshifter alive.’

    Other editions ofDusklands
    • Dusklands
      ISBN: 9781925774856
      1 October 2019
      Buy ebook