Member Loginmenu
Stranger Shores: Essays 1986-1999

Stranger Shores: Essays 1986-1999

J. M. Coetzee

Stranger Shores is the first of three collections of literary criticism by J. M. Coetzee to be republished by Text. It includes essays on Dostoevsky and Kafka, A. S. Byatt and Doris Lessing. These are concise, accessible introductions to some of the world’s greatest writers, by a contemporary master.

J. M. Coetzee
About the Author

J. M. Coetzee was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. His work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, The Master of Petersburg, Disgrace and Diary of a Bad Year. His most recent writing is a trilogy of novels: The Childhood of Jesus, The Schooldays of...

Read Moreright
Text publication date:
30 March 2021
AU Price:
NZ Price:
Loading Rating
Praise for J. M. Coetzee
andStranger Shores: Essays 1986-1999

‘Freed from literary convention, Mr Coetzee writes not to provide answers, but to ask greatquestions.’

‘For all the sharpness and sorrow of Coetzee’s writing, there is something grandly calming abouthis style: his sentences seem to give off light, and not in a hard dazzle, but in the glow of achild’s night-light.’

‘A major force in contemporary writing. A master, in fact.’

Other editions ofStranger Shores: Essays 1986-1999
  • Stranger Shores: Essays 1986-1999
    ISBN: 9781925923834
    30 March 2021
    Buy ebook