Member Loginmenu


J. M. Coetzee

  • awardShortlisted, Best Designed Series, Australian Book Design Awards, 2020
  • Introduction by Liam Pieper

    It is up to him to somehow get beyond childhood, beyond family and school, to a new life where he will not need to pretend any more.

    A young John Coetzee struggles to exert his autonomy in this perceptive evocation of his early years in the deeply divided South Africa of the 1940s. Coetzee reflects on his formative experiences with brutal insight and clarity, laying bare the intermingled joys and tragedies of childhood against a backdrop of incongruous cruelty. Boyhood is the first of J. M. Coetzee’s masterly trio of autobiographical novels, Scenes from Provincial Life.

    J. M. Coetzee
    About the Author

    J. M. Coetzee was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. His work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, The Master of Petersburg, Disgrace and Diary of a Bad Year. His most recent writing is a trilogy of novels: The Childhood of Jesus, The Schooldays of...

    Read Moreright
    About the Introducer

    Liam Pieper’s published works include The Feel-Good Hit of the Year, shortlisted for the National Biography Award, and The Toymaker, which received the 2017 Christina Stead Prize for Fiction. Liam was the 2018 National Library of Australian Creative Arts Fellow for Australia Writing. His latest novel is Sweetness and Light.

    Read Moreright
    Text publication date:
    29 September 2020
    AU Price:
    NZ Price:
    Loading Rating
    Praise for J. M. Coetzee

    ‘Exceptional…a scorched tale of race, caste, shame, and—at times—hilarious bewilderment.’

    Other editions ofBoyhood
    • Boyhood
      ISBN: 9781925923506
      29 September 2020
      Buy ebook