WEB ORDERS ARE NOW CLOSED – we regret that we have had to suspend web orders until the Covid-19 social distancing precautions are no longer necessary.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
Late Essays: 2006–2017

Late Essays is the last of three collections of literary criticism by J. M. Coetzee, including essays on Flaubert and Goethe, White and Murnane. These are concise, accessible introductions to some of the world’s greatest writers, by a contemporary master.

J. M. Coetzee
About the Author

J. M. Coetzee is the first Australian author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. His work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life and Times of Michael K, The Master of Petersburg, Disgrace,Diary of a Bad Year, The Childhood of Jesus and Three Stories. He lives in Adelaide.

Read Moreright
Text publication date:
1 June 2021
AU Price:
NZ Price:
Loading Rating
Praise for J. M. Coetzee
andLate Essays: 2006–2017

‘Freed from literary convention, Mr Coetzee writes not to provide answers, but to ask greatquestions.’

‘For all the sharpness and sorrow of Coetzee’s writing, there is something grandly calming abouthis style: his sentences seem to give off light, and not in a hard dazzle, but in the glow of achild’s night-light.’

‘A major force in contemporary writing. A master, in fact.’

Other editions ofLate Essays: 2006–2017