Member Loginmenu


J. M. Coetzee

  • awardShortlisted, Best Designed Series, Australian Book Design Awards, 2020
  • Introduction by James Ley

    And he was just a boy, this Mr Coetzee. I was a woman and he was a boy. He was a boy as a priest is always a boy until suddenly one day he is an old man.

    After some time in America, the young unpublished writer John Coetzee returns to suburban Cape Town to live with his ailing father. His biographer chronicles this period in a series of interviews with the people important in Coetzee’s life, constructing a portrait of an awkward literary man at a remove from those around him. Summertime is the last of J. M. Coetzee’s masterly trio of autobiographical novels, Scenes from Provincial Life.

    J. M. Coetzee
    About the Author

    J. M. Coetzee was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. His work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, The Master of Petersburg, Disgrace and Diary of a Bad Year. His most recent writing is a trilogy of novels: The Childhood of Jesus, The Schooldays of...

    Read Moreright
    About the Introducer

    James Ley is an essayist and literary critic. His work has appeared in many publications, including the Age, Australian, Sydney Morning Herald, Australian Book Review and Times Literary Supplement.

    Read Moreright
    Text publication date:
    1 December 2020
    AU Price:
    NZ Price:
    Loading Rating
    Praise for J. M. Coetzee

    ‘Not since Disgrace has he written with such urgency and feeling.’

    Other editions ofSummertime
    • Summertime
      ISBN: 9781925923483
      1 December 2020
      Buy ebook