SHOP NOW—free delivery anywhere in Australia

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
Slow Man

If none is left who will pronounce judgment on such a life, if the Great Judge of All has given up judging and withdrawn to pare his nails, then he will pronounce it himself: a wasted chance.

When a bicycle accident causes photographer Paul Rayment to lose a leg, he must reexamine his life so far, and what remains of it. He falls in love with the nurse who tends to his needs—but the arrival of famed novelist Elizabeth Costello upends everything. Slow Man is an intricate novel about identity, memory and desire, from a contemporary master.

J. M. Coetzee
About the Author

J. M. Coetzee was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. His work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life and Times of Michael K, The Master of Petersburg, Disgrace and Diary of a Bad Year. He lives in Adelaide.

Read Moreright
M. J. Hyland
About the Introducer

M. J. Hyland was born in London to Irish parents in 1968 and spent her early childhood in Dublin. She studied English and Law at the University of Melbourne, Australia and worked as a lawyer for several years. Her first novel, How the Light Gets In (2003) was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and the Age Book of the Year, and made...

Read Moreright
Text publication date:
2 June 2020
AU Price:
NZ Price:
Loading Rating
Praise for J. M. Coetzee
andSlow Man

‘Further witness to J. M. Coetzee’s achievement as one of the most intelligent and important writers writing today.’

‘Beautifully composed, deeply thought, wonderfully written.’

Other editions ofSlow Man