Member Loginmenu

Articles tagged “awards”

Chong wins at the 2013 APA Book Design Awards

Text’s Design Director W. H. Chong won the 2013 Joyce Thorpe Nicholson Design Hall of Fame Award at last night’s Australian Publishers Association Book Design Awards.

Text Awards

This month has seen Text books and authors garner a staggering number of awards, shortlistings and longlistings. See the full list below. Congratulations to all!

Toni Jordan’s Nine Days was named Best Fiction book at the 2013 Independent Booksellers of Australia Awards.

Ash and Flynn on the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize shortlist

The shortlist for the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize has just been announced, and we’re delighted that Romy Ash’s Floundering and Chris Flynn’s A Tiger in Eden have made the cut.

The Commonwealth Book Prize is awarded annually to a debut novel by a Commonwealth citizen.

Miles Franklin longlist announced

The longlist for the 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award has just been announced, and we’re delighted that Romy Ash’s debut novel, Floundering, is in the running to win this $60,000 prize.

Toni Jordan wins Best Fiction at the 2013 Indie Awards

Toni Jordan’s Nine Days has been named Best Fiction book at the 2013 Independent Booksellers of Australia Awards, presented at Berkelouw Bookstore last night.

On collecting her award, Toni said:

Nine Days is a novel with nine first-person narrators and a mixed-up chronology.

The 2013 APA Book Design Awards shortlist

WH Chong’s beautiful cover for Murray Bail’s The Voyage has been shortlisted in the literary fiction category in this year’s APA Book Design Awards.

The winners in each category will be announced at an awards ceremony on 23 May during the Sydney Writers’ Festival.

The Cook wins Most Underrated Book Award 2012

Wayne Macauley’s The Cook has won the Most Underrated Book Award of 2012, announced at last night’s gala at the Independent Publishing Conference.

Craig Sherborne’s The Amateur Science of Love wins the Best Writing Prize, 2012 Melbourne Prize for Literature

Publisher Michael Heyward, Craig Sherborne, Senior Editor Penny Hueston and Craig’s partner, Janet.

Craig Sherborne has won the Best Writing Prize in the 2012 Melbourne Prize for Literature, announced at BMW Edge last night, for his debut novel, The Amateur Science of Love.

NSW Premier’s Literary and History Awards Shortlists Announced

The delayed 2012 NSW Premier’s Literary and History Awards shortlists have finally been announced, and Text is very well represented on them.

Kate Grenville’s Sarah Thornhill has been shortlisted for the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and Craig Sherborne’s Read more

The Cook in the running for Most Underrated Book of 2012

Wayne Macauley’s Read more


Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review


Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog


Scribe News

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums