Member Loginmenu

Articles tagged “awards”

Text Books Shortlisted for NSW Premier’s Awards

Text is thrilled to announce that six of our authors are on the shortlistings for the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards. 

Past winners have included such notable writers as Peter Carey, David Malouf AO, Elizabeth Jolley, Thomas Keneally AO and Helen Garner. 

And the shortlistees are...

Eva Hornung wins the South Australian Premier’s Award for Literature

Eva Hornung has taken out the South Australian Premier’s Award for Literature for her novel The Last Garden. She is the first South Australian to win this prestigious prize.

Read on for details as well as an extract.

The Rules of Backyard Cricket nominated for The Edgars

Text is thrilled that Jock Serong’s brilliant literary thriller, The Rules of Backyard Cricket, has been shortlisted in the Best Paperback Original category for the 2018 Edgar Allan Poe Awards.

Each spring (or autumn, depending on your hemisphere), Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre. 

Five Text Authors on the 2018 Indies Shortlist!

Text is thrilled that five of our authors have been shortlisted for the 2018 Indie Book Awards!

Have a look at who’s been nominated and read extracts from all five books! 

Judging Panels Announced for 2018 Inaugural Michael Gifkins Prize

The NZ Society of Authors (PEN NZ INC) Te Puni Kaitahu O Aotearoa and Melbourne-based Text Publishing are pleased to announce the judging panels for the 2018 inaugural Michael Gifkins Prize.

Kate Cole-Adams and Sarah Krasnostein Shortlisted for Vic Prem’s Literary Award for Non-fiction

Text is pleased to announce that Anaesthesia Kate Cole-Adams and The Trauma Cleaner by Sarah Krasnostein have been shortlisted for the 2018 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Non-fiction.

Melanie Cheng and Michael Sala Shortlisted for Vic Prem’s Literary Award for Fiction

Text is pleased to announce that Australia Day by Melanie Cheng and The Restorer by Michael Sala have been shortlisted for the 2018 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Fiction.

Helen Garner wins a 2017 Walkley Award for Excellence in Journalism

Helen Garner has won a 2017 Walkley Award for Excellence in Journalism for feature writing (longform) for her piece ‘Why She Broke: The Woman, her Children and the Lake’, which originally featured in The Monthly and also appears in her latest collection from Text Publishing, True Stories: The Collected Short Non-Fiction

Quicksilver and The Art of Rivalry shortlisted for the 2017 PM’s Literary Awards

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.

Text is pleased to have two books on the shortlist for this prestigious award: Quicksilver by Nicolas Rothwell and The Art of Rivalry by Sebastian Smee. 

All About Cat: ABA’s 2017 Text Publishing Bookseller of the Year

The Australian Booksellers’ Association Gala Dinner was held on Sunday 18 June. 

Text has been a proud sponsor of the Bookseller of the Year Award for the past six years and it is a great privilege to be associated with it. Australian booksellers are a special breed and this year’s award was presented to Catherine Schultz from one of the best independent bookshops in the country, Fullers Hobart.

Read on to find out all about the night as well as the indomitable Cat Schultz...


Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review


Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog


Scribe News

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums