SHOP NOW—free delivery anywhere in Australia

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
The Shadow of the Wind

Translated by Lucia Graves

The Shadow of the Wind is a mesmerising love story and literary thriller, which twists and turns and enthralls with its cast of vengeful souls, threatening spectres and innocent hearts.

It is 1945 and Barcelona is enduring the long aftermath of civil war when Daniel Sempere’s bookseller father decides his son is old enough to visit the secret Cemetery of Forgotten Books.

There Daniel must ‘adopt’ a single book, promising to care for it and keep it alive always. His choice falls on The Shadow of the Wind.Bewitched, he embarks on an epic quest to find the truth about Julian Carax, the book’s mysterious author.

Soon Daniel is consumed by strange discoveries about love and obsession, art and life, and how they become entangled within the shadow world of books.

This edition of Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s much-loved bestseller includes Chapter One of his new literary sensation The Angel’s Game.

Carlos Ruiz Zafon
About the Author

Carlos Ruiz Zafón was born in Barcelona. He is one of the world’s most read and best-loved writers. His work has been translated into more than forty languages, garnering numerous international prizes and reaching millions of readers. Marina was first published in Spanish in 1999, this is the first time it has been published in English.

Read Moreright
Text publication date:
3 July 2006
AU Price:
Loading Rating
Praise for Carlos Ruiz Zafón
andThe Shadow of the Wind

‘Shadow is the real deal…one gorgeous read.’

‘Atmospheric, beguiling and thoroughly readable.’

‘A popular masterpiece, an instant classic.’

‘Utterly unputdownable.’

‘Wondrous…intended for readers as passionate about storytelling as its young hero.’

‘An intoxicating and thoroughly irresistible mix of romance, mystery, gothic horror and melodrama.’

‘I’d like to say more about this superbly entertaining book but don’t dare to hint any more about its plot twists. Suffice it to say…anyone who enjoys novels that are scary, erotic, touching, tragic and thrilling should rush right out to the nearest bookstore and pick up The Shadow of the Wind. Really, you should.’

Other editions ofThe Shadow of the Wind
  • The Shadow of the Wind
    ISBN: 9781921921704
    16 December 2011
    Buy ebook