Member Loginmenu
Release

Ten years ago, sixteen-year-old Gemma Toombs was kidnapped from Bangkok Airport by an infatuated drifter, Tyler MacFarlane, who took her to a secret den in the Australian desert. Now her name is Kate Stone and it’s her turn to confront Ty and try to find answers to the questions that have obsessed her since her ordeal. What is the legacy of this coercive relationship? Who holds the cards now? In the confusion of past and present, will Kate remain trapped in a deranged dance of desire and revenge? Or will she regain control and find release?

Set in both London and Perth, a courtroom drama and a road trip in the searing heat of the West Australian desert, Release is the story of two people confronting each other, each intent on destruction and survival. A companion to Lucy Christopher’s bestselling novel Stolen, this gripping psychological thriller explores a young woman’s discovery of the complicated truth about a relationship that once seemed alluring.

For readers of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson and Helen Fitzgerald.

INTERVIEWS and REVIEWS

3CR: Published or Not      
Booktopia blog      
Readings: The best new crime reads in June    
Readings: What we’re reading    

Lucy Christopher
About the Author

Lucy Christopher is a British-Australian writer, whose first YA novel Stolen was a Michael L. Printz Honor Book, won a 2011 USBBY Outstanding International Book Award, and received the UK’s Branford Boase Award. Lucy has written several other novels for young people, was the director of the MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University,...

Read Moreright
Extent:
352pp
Format:
Paperback
Text publication date:
31 May 2022
ISBN:
9781911231387
AU Price:
$32.99
NZ Price:
$38.00
Australian
starstarstarstarstar
starstarstarstarstar
Loading Rating
Praise for Lucy Christopher
andRelease

‘Gripping and totally twisted—you’ll break social engagements so you can stay home and finish it.’

‘Utterly compelling, clever, heart-stopping.’

‘Complicated and beautiful – this novel left me doubting my emotions and missing a place I’d never been.’

‘All the tension of lightning, all the terror of thunder. A stunning, scary, and beautiful book.’

‘Daring, edgy and electric.’

‘Dark, compelling and unsettling.’

‘Furiously passionate prose, clean as a bone.’

‘A twisted tale of idealised love and sweet revenge as victim becomes predator. Gemma/Kate is vulnerable, fierce and unhinged as she sets about righting the wrongs of her past. Release is an urgent, addictive and provocative exploration of trauma, love and redemption.’

‘Absolutely haunting and atmospheric, yet so, so twisted.’

‘A gripping, addictive story of confronting your past, healing the scars of trauma and, ultimately, redemption.’

Other editions ofRelease