SHOP NOW—free delivery anywhere in Australia

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty

Number 3 chiller

Orbinski wins Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing

Dr. James Orbinski has won the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing, for his book An Imperfect Offering.

Aye Write! shortlist

Three books published by Text and our Scottish cousins, Canongate Books, were on the shortlist for this year’s Aye Write Bank of Scotland Prize.

The Fire Gospel, the latest in the International Myths Series, from the author of The Crimson Petal and the White, Michel Faber

Read more

Murderer’s Thumb a White Ravens selection

Beth Montgomery’s Murderer’s Thumb has been selected for The White Ravens 2009. These 250 outstanding new international books for children and young adults are selected by the Read more

Temple’s Shooting Star a German favourite

Peter Temple’s kidnap thriller Shooting Star, first published in 1999, and winner of the Ned Kelly Award, has been nominated as one of the 10 best crime novels of 2008 by the WELTKrimi bestenliste.

The Spare Room wins 2009 Barbara Jefferis Award

Helen Garner’s powerful novel The Spare Room has won the second annual Barbara Jefferis Award.

Beating fellow Text author Toni Jordan, whose debut novel Read more

Gool on NZ Post shortlist

Text would like to congratulate Maurice Gee on making the shortlist for this year’s NZ Post Book Awards with his gripping Young Adult novel Gool, volume 2 of the Salt Trilogy.

The first book in the trilogy is Salt, which won Best Young Adult Fiction Book in last year’s awards.

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards shortlist announced

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards celebrates its 30th anniversary this year. Text is very pleased to announce that both Kate Grenville’s The Lieutenant and Helen Garner’s The Spare Room are on the shortlist for the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction.

Miles Franklin longlist: Bail, Jordan

The longlist for this year’s prestigious Miles Franklin Literary Award contains two books published by Text last year: Murray Bail’s The Pages, and Toni Jordan’s debut novel, Addition.

Barbara Jefferis Award shortlist: The Spare Room and Addition

The Barbara Jefferis Award is a terrific new addition to the Australian literary landscape.

Book Design Awards - 2009 shortlist

Two gorgeous hardcovers published by Text in 2008 and designed by our star designer Chong Weng Ho have made it to the shortlist for this year’s Book Design Awards: Murray Bail’s

The Pages, and Hamlet, A Novel, by John Marsden. Chong’s jacket for Read more


Alpha Reader

ANZ LitLovers

Bite the Book

The Conversation

Culture Mulcher

Diva Booknerd

Inside a Dog

Kids’ Book Review


Literary Minded

Meanjin Blog

Reading Tree


Scribe News

Speculating on SpecFic

The Wheeler Centre

Whispering Gums