SHOP NOW—free delivery anywhere in Australia

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
The Mosquito

The Mosquito: A Human History of Our Deadliest Predator

Timothy C. Winegard

A ground-breaking work of narrative non-fiction that offers a dramatic new perspective on human history.

What was George Washington’s secret weapon during the American Revolution, and how did it lead to Britain colonising Australia? What protected Popes for centuries? And what does Starbucks have to thank for its global domination? The answer to all these questions, and many more, is the mosquito.

The mosquito has razed economies, determined the fates of empires and decided the outcome of pivotal wars. She—only females bite—has dispatched an estimated 52 billion people from a total of 108 billion ever to have lived. As the greatest purveyor of extermination we have known, she has played a greater role in shaping our history than any other living creature. 

The Mosquito is the extraordinary story of how a tiny bloodsucking fly indelibly changed our world. Driven by surprising insights and fast-paced storytelling, it will appeal to readers of Peter Wohlleben and Elizabeth Kolbert—and to anyone who has swatted at one of the hundred trillion mosquitoes buzzing about the Earth.

Timothy C. Winegard
About the Author

Dr Timothy C. Winegard holds a PhD from Oxford and served for nine years as an officer in the Canadian and British forces. He now teaches history and political science at Colorado Mesa University and has published four books of history.

Read Moreright
Extent:
300pp
Format:
Paperback
Text publication date:
20 August 2019
ISBN:
9781911231127
AU Price:
$32.99
NZ Price:
$38.00
starstarstarstarstar
starstarstarstarstar
Loading Rating
Other editions ofThe Mosquito
  • The Mosquito
    ebook
    ISBN: 9781925774702
    20 August 2019
    Buy ebook