We are not currently taking web orders. We encourage you to contact your local bookshop for our titles.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty

Fairyland: Text Classics

Text Classics

Sumner Locke Elliott

Introduction by Dennis Altman

The final book by Sumner Locke Elliott, the award-winning author of Careful, He Might Hear You. 

Drawing heavily on Locke Elliott’s own experiences, Fairyland charts the life of Seaton Daly, an aspiring writer coming to terms with his homosexuality in the repressive atmosphere of inner-city Sydney during the 1930s and ‘40s. Lonely and naive, Daly dreams of escaping to the 'promised land’ of the United States.

Fairyland is an intimate, affecting, sometimes harrowing portrayal of a lifelong search for love. Sumner Locke Elliott’s ‘coming out’ novel, it was first published in 1990, the year before his death.

This new edition comes with an introduction by Dennis Altman.  

About the Author

Sumner Locke Elliott was born in Sydney on 17 October 1917. His mother was the writer Helena Sumner Locke. She died of eclampsia the day after his birth, and the boy was raised by his aunts.

Elliott wrote his first play when he was twelve, and while he was still at school joined Sydney’s Independent Theatre. In 1942 he was drafted and served out...

Read Moreright
Text publication date:
26 June 2013
AU Price:
NZ Price:
Loading Rating
Praise for Sumner Locke Elliott

‘Beautifully written and moving…an elegantly crafted novel of lasting importance.' 

Other editions ofFairyland
  • Fairyland
    ISBN: 9781922148179
    26 June 2013
    Buy ebook
Other Titles bySumner Locke Elliott