WEB ORDERS ARE NOW CLOSED – we regret that we have had to suspend web orders until the Covid-19 social distancing precautions are no longer necessary.

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
A Strange Country

A Strange Country

Muriel Barbery

Translated by Alison Anderson

During the longest war humankind has endured, two young Spanish officers abandon their post to follow the charismatic Petrus across a bridge only he can see.

In a place of lingering mists, poetry, music and natural wonders, the fate of our world and its living creatures will be decided. Yet this world too is under threat. Will harmony and beauty prevail over darkness and death? An ode to the power of the imagination, the sequel to The Life of Elves echoes our own global border disputes and climate disaster. A Strange Country, by the author of The Elegance of the Hedgehog, is a literary fantasy for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro, Margaret Atwood and David Mitchell.

Muriel Barbery
About the Author

Muriel Barbery is the author of the bestselling The Elegance of the Hedgehog, Gourmet Rhapsody and The Life of Elves. She has lived in Kyoto, Amsterdam and Paris, and now lives in the French countryside.

Read Moreright
About the Translator

Alison Anderson’s many translations include novels by NobelPrize winner J-M.G. Le Clézio, Anna Gavalda, Amélie Nothomb,Hélène Grémillon, as well as Muriel Barbery’s earlier novels.

Read Moreright
Extent:
336pp
Format:
Paperback
Text publication date:
28 April 2020
ISBN:
9781922268983
AU Price:
$29.99
NZ Price:
$37.00
starstarstarstarstar
starstarstarstarstar
Loading Rating
Praise for Muriel Barbery
andA Strange Country

‘A homage to the power of story…A tour de force with many inspired and delightful touches…Irresistible.’

‘Barbery revels in the lavishing of detail…in its many moments of weird lucidity it also beguiles. It’s then that Barbery explores the mystical connections between nature, art and the human heart with vividness and clarity.’

‘A marvellous mixture of fairy tale, poetry, fable and adventure. Muriel Barbery’s characters are beautifully rendered.’

A Strange Country is both a remarkable adventure story and a philosophical tale, a homage to the imagination and to creativity. It is Tolkien in the land of Jean Giono.’

‘In in this cosmic tale, which takes its inspiration from the author’s Asian experience, her contemplation of Japanese gardens and her fascination with Zen Buddhism, Barbery once again celebrates the infinite powers of literature, unveiling the layers of a peaceful but threatened paradise. By taking us into this unusual world, her novel encourages us to revisit our disillusioned lives.’

‘Muriel Barbery allows us to reconnect with our dreams and imagination. Entering into her world is a sheer delight.’

‘Muriel Barbery is the most successful traveller to ”strange countries” that we have in our times.’

‘Both an adventure story and an act of contemplation. A love song to Asian art, Barbery’s novel is inspired by her passion for Japan, where she has lived, and by her long-held desire to write about the gardens in Kyoto…At the end of this beautiful novel that is both amusing and serious, readers will emerge moved and delighted—by allowing their spirits to inhabit that of an enchanted child.’

‘Through the eyes of strangers, the reader learns about the customs of another world. As well as touches of Voltaire’s Candide, we encounter a good deal of humour. And the ultimate question: “Will poetry and beauty be enough to unite and save the world?”…This captivating, enchanting novel whispers to us the secrets of a lost world in which we can lose ourselves, and dream.’

Other editions ofA Strange Country
  • A Strange Country
    ebook
    ISBN: 9781925923438
    28 April 2020
    Buy ebook
Other Titles byMuriel Barbery