Member Loginmenu
Rod Jones
Credit: Maria Vella
High resolution colour portraituser
Rod Jones

Rod Jones’s first novel, Julia Paradise (1986), won the fiction award at the 1988 Adelaide Festival, was shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award and was runner-up for the Prix Femina Étranger. It has been translated into ten languages and is now available as a Text Classic. His four other novels, Prince of the Lilies, Billy Sunday, Nightpictures, and Swan Bay, have all either won or been shortlisted for major literary awards.

Rod Jones lives near Melbourne. The Mothers is his most recent novel.

Inspiration comes to us through grace and luck. The conception and growth of a novel is unpredictable. That’s why, even after publishing half a dozen novels, I still always have to begin anew.Rod Jones on being a writer, Daily Review

Find out more about Rod Jones

Titles byRod Jones
  • The Mothers
    The Mothers
    Rod Jones
  • Julia Paradise
    Julia Paradise
    Rod Jones