SHOP NOW—free delivery anywhere in Australia

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
The Fragments

From the award-winning, bestselling author of Addition and Nine Days, a superbly crafted and captivating literary mystery about a lost book and a secret love.

Inga Karlson died in a fire in New York in the 1930s, leaving behind three things: a phenomenally successful first novel, the scorched fragments of a second book—and a literary mystery that has captivated generations of readers.

Nearly fifty years later, Brisbane bookseller Caddie Walker is waiting in line to see a Karlson exhibition featuring the famous fragments when she meets a charismatic older woman. The woman quotes a phrase from the Karlson fragments that Caddie knows does not exist—and yet to Caddie, who knows Inga Karlson’s work like she knows her name, it feels genuine.

Caddie is electrified. Jolted her from her sleepy, no-worries life in torpid 1980s Brisbane she is driven to investigate: to find the clues that will unlock the greatest literary mystery of the twentieth century.


Read an extract from Chapter Three, set in Brisbane, in 1986

Read an extract from Chapter Fourteen, set in New York, in 1938 

INTERVIEWS and REVIEWS

ABC Radio National: The Hub on Books
2SER: Final Draft (02:42)
3RRR: Backstory
(09:40)
The AU Review
Australian Book Review ($)
Kill Your Darlings
: Books Roundup
Readings
Saturday Paper

Toni Jordan
About the Author

Toni Jordan is the author of five novels. The international bestseller Addition was a Richard and Judy Bookclub pick and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. Fall Girl was published internationally and has been optioned for film, and Nine Days was awarded Best Fiction at the Indie Awards, was shortlisted for the ABIA Best...

Read Moreright
Extent:
336pp
Format:
Paperback
Text publication date:
29 October 2018
ISBN:
9781925773132
AU Price:
$29.99
NZ Price:
$37.00
Australian
starstarstarstarstar
starstarstarstarstar
Loading Rating
Praise for Toni Jordan
andThe Fragments

‘I love Jordan’s writing for its pitch-perfect blend of intelligence, compassion and humour.’

‘I so loved The Fragments by the amazing Toni Jordan. A thrilling, atmospheric, unforgettable story. I didn’t want it to end.’

‘Jordan constructs a satisfying mystery, with rival conspiracy theories, plots, betrayal, clues and red herrings enough confuse readers in their attempts to solve it – perfect for fans of Dominic Smith’s The Last Painting of Sara de Vos and Heather Rose’s The Museum of Modern Love.’

‘An unusual literary thriller, built around complex twists and a great sense of anticipation…Exploring truth and historicity, The Fragments is a clever novel. Jordan’s fiction examines the overlooked roles of women, whose work often forms the thread that binds stories from the past, and the public’s hunger for what goes missing in the narrative gaps.’

‘It’s a treat to step back into 1980s-era Australia with [Jordan].’

‘A mystery that spans cities, class, people and timezones, and it’s a page-turner with plot developments transpiring right to the very last pages…If you love reading Jane Harper or Holly Throsby or indeed Jordan’s other novels, this is the perfect weekend read. The Fragments is undoubtedly Jordan’s finest work to date.’

‘An old-fashioned romance novel grafted to the thrill of the literary chase…Like Liane Moriarty, [Jordan] takes traditional, even shopworn, literary forms and invests them with uncommo­n intelligence and verve.’

‘A fast-paced, enticing novel, and one that is near-impossible to put down… A new novel by Toni Jordan is always something to get excited about, and The Fragments is no different. It is an absolute triumph by one of Australia’s most adaptable writers.’

‘A captivating read.’

‘A gripping historical mystery with quite a few twists and red herrings to keep the reader guessing…Once again, Jordan shows she is a very talented author, with more than one string to her bow.’

‘The writing from Melbourne literary favourite Toni Jordan is sublime and this reviewer’s only regret is that this divine novel had to come to an end.’

‘Jordan takes on a different genre with every novel and handles each with distinctive flair. In this literary crime thriller she alternates between 1986 Brisbane and 1939 New York City, with a strong sense of place in each locale and a generous cast.’

‘A clever, compelling literary mystery.’

Other editions ofThe Fragments
  • The Fragments
    ebook
    ISBN: 9781925774047
    29 October 2018
    Buy ebook