Member Loginmenu
Yan Lianke
High resolution colour portraituser
Yan Lianke

Winner, 2014 Franz Kafka Book Prize
Shortlisted, 2016 and 2013 Man Booker International Prize
Shortlisted, 2012 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize
Shortlisted, 2011 Man Asian Literary Prize

Yan Lianke is the author of the memoir Three Brothers and numerous novels and novellas, including Hard Like Water, The Day the Sun Died, The Explosion Chronicles, The Four Books, Lenin’s Kisses, Serve the People!, Dream of Ding Village, and The Years, Months, Days. He was awarded the Newman Prize for Chinese Literature and the Franz Kafka Prize, among many accolades. He was twice a finalist for the Man Booker International Prize, and he has been shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, the Man Asian Literary Prize, and the Prix Femina Étranger. He has also received two of China’s most prestigious literary honors, the Lu Xun Prize and the Lao She Award.

Carlos Rojas has translated seven books by Yan Lianke.


Believer magazine   
Financial Times
LitHub: Yan Lianke Wants You to Stop Describing Him As China’s Most Censored Author   
Literary Hub: What Happens After Coronavirus?
Literary Hub: How Contemporary Chinese Literature Made Western Modernism Its Own   
New Yorker profile

Titles byYan Lianke
  • Heart Sutra
    Heart Sutra
    Yan Lianke
  • Hard Like Water
    Hard Like Water
    Yan Lianke
  • Three Brothers
    Three Brothers
    Yan Lianke
  • The Day the Sun Died
    The Day the Sun Died
    Yan Lianke
  • The Years, Months, Days
    The Years, Months, Days
    Yan Lianke
  • The Explosion Chronicles
    The Explosion Chronicles
    Yan Lianke
  • The Four Books
    The Four Books
    Yan Lianke
  • Lenin's Kisses
    Lenin's Kisses
    Yan Lianke
  • Dream of Ding Village
    Dream of Ding Village
    Yan Lianke
  • Serve the People!
    Serve the People!
    Yan Lianke