Member Loginmenu
When Blackbirds Sing

When Blackbirds Sing: Text Classics

Langton Quartet, Book Four

Martin Boyd

Introduction by Chris Wallace-Crabbe

At the outbreak of World War I, Dominic Langton leaves his wife on a remote sheep farm in New South Wales to enlist in the British Army. What he experiences in the trenches changes him forever; his return home sees him cast off his past and find his own integrity. He has seen the true nature of war—the senseless waste of life, the millions of young men condemned to pointless slaughter—and has emerged a wiser, but troubled, man.

When Blackbirds Sing is a masterful recreation of the vanished world of 1914, and a moving and powerful testament to the devastation of war. In this final instalment of Martin Boyd’s celebrated Langton Quartet, Boyd confirms his reputation as one of the most outstanding novelists Australia has ever produced.

Martin Boyd
About the Author

Martin a’ Beckett Boyd was born in Switzerland in 1893 into a famous family. His brothers Merric and Penleigh were to become artists, too. Merric’s son Arthur was to become a famous painter, and Penleigh’s son Robin became an architect and the author of The Australian Ugliness.

After leaving school Martin Boyd enrolled in a seminary, but he...

Read Moreright
About the Introducer
Read Moreright
Text publication date:
23 July 2014
First published:
AU Price:
NZ Price:
Loading Rating
Praise for Martin Boyd
andWhen Blackbirds Sing

‘The sophistication of this novel meshes so perfectly with the heartfelt story that it tells. When Blackbirds Sing well deserves its place on my shelves.’

Other editions ofWhen Blackbirds Sing
  • When Blackbirds Sing
    ISBN: 9781922148995
    23 July 2014
    Buy ebook