Member Loginmenu
To the River

The Kelly family has always been trouble. When a fire in a remote caravan community kills nine people, including 17-year-old Sabine Kelly’s mother and sister, Sabine confesses to the murders. Shortly after, she escapes custody and disappears. Recently made redundant from marriage, motherhood and her career, journalist Rachel Weidermann has long suspected Sabine made her way back to the river—now, twelve years after the ‘Caravan Murders’, she has the time and the tenacity to corner a fugitive and land the story of the year.

Rachel’s ambition lights the fuse leading to a brutal chain of events, and the web Sabine weaves will force Rachel to question everything she believes. Vikki Wakefield’s compelling psychological thriller is about class, corruption, love, loyalty, and the vindication of truth and justice. And a brave dog called Blue.

INTERVIEWS and REVIEWS

AustCrime   
Books+Publishing   
Gleebooks    
InReview    

Vikki Wakefield
About the Author

Vikki Wakefield writes fiction for adults and young adults. Her novels have been shortlisted for numerous awards. After You Were Gone, a psychological thriller, was her first novel for adults and was published in 2022 to much acclaim. To the River is her second psychological thriller for adults. Vikki lives in Adelaide, South Australia.

Read Moreright
Extent:
400pp
Format:
Paperback
Text publication date:
27 February 2024
ISBN:
9781922790590
AU Price:
$34.99
NZ Price:
$40.00
Australian
starstarstarstarstar
starstarstarstarstar
Loading Rating
Praise for Vikki Wakefield
andTo the River

‘Vikki Wakefield’s To the River gets under your skin. Two very different women are brought together in the search for the truth and something like justice. Covered in dog hair and splattered with river mud, this taut, muscular thriller absolutely delivers.’

‘A completely gripping story, with two brave, tough and damaged women at its heart. Vikki Wakefield is a brilliant writer.’

‘Twisty crime thriller with excellent female protagonist, a wonderfully atmospheric river setting and propulsive pace. Read it in two sittings. Perfect for fans of Jane Harper, Anna Downes and JP Pomare.’

‘A rollicking, fast-paced ride that builds to the perfect climax, with twists and turns along the way…Vikki Wakefield is a masterful writer with complete control over her characters. Her immeasurable talent and skill are electric in each frame of the story…Mixing in psychological warfare between two incredibly cataclysmic main characters, this is an action-packed, exciting, yet often thoughtful book. To the River will be one of 2024’s sure-fire hits, perfect for fans of Jane Harper and Gillian Flynn. I cannot recommend it highly enough.’

‘An atmospheric mystery with layer upon layer of secrets. Two flawed women discover how much they are willing to risk when justice is not equal and the system is not there to protect them.’

‘Heartrending and heart pounding. At times beautiful and graceful, at times propulsive and frantic—just like a river.’

‘Whether you are an established crime reader or are seeking an introduction to the genre, To the River is a gripping read with a storyline that is easy enough to follow even if you put it down for a few days—though you may not want to put it down at all.’

‘Gripping, propulsive, and unbearably tense – the best psychological thriller I’ve read in years.’

‘A dark and twisting novel of psychological suspense that will have you turning pages and checking your locks.’

‘Beautifully written and superbly unnerving, After You Were Gone is the very best kind of thriller: tender and wise as well as pulse-poundingly tense, with characters so real you want to linger with them even as you race through the pages, desperate to find out what happens. Absolutely wonderful, I could not have loved or admired it more.’

‘An original thriller full of empathy. Flawed and vulnerable, Abbie is so real. I was with her all the way.’

‘This is how to write a psychological thriller; stylish prose in a warts-and-all tale…Wakefield makes a seamless transition into the adult genre.’

After You Were Gone cleaves open ideas of friendship and family, revealing the complex inner workings of our closest relationships. In doing so, Wakefield achieves what all good crime writers aspire to do: she forces the reader to stress-test their own sense of morality. She looks you in the eye and asks what would you do if the unthinkable happened? What would you sacrifice? How far would you go? At once tense and atmospheric, After You Were Gone is also brilliantly plotted and populated with complex characters. An exciting new voice in Australian crime.’

‘You’ll be questioning every character, their motives and [their] memories…[A] great thriller.’

‘A riveting read…Breathtaking.’

Other editions ofTo the River
  • To the River
    ebook
    ISBN: 9781922791665
    27 February 2024
    Buy ebook