SHOP NOW—free delivery anywhere in Australia

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
The Republic of Birds

Olga loves the stories of the old cartographers and pores over their ancient books and maps, trying to unlock their secrets. Sometimes, she thinks she can even feel through the maps— almost see into them—as if by magic.

But magic is banned in Tsaretsvo, ever since the war with the birds that divided the kingdom, and the powerful magic-wielding Iagas have long been banished. Now, any young girl who shows signs of being an Iaga is whisked away to Bleak Steppe—to a life, so the story goes, of unspeakable punishment.

When the bird army kidnaps Olga’s sister in a surprise attack on the human kingdom, Olga realises she has to venture into the Republic of Birds to bring her back. But first, she must learn to unlock her magical ability. As her journey takes her into the hidden world of the Iagas and the wilds of the Unmappable Blank, Olga discovers the truth about the war with the birds—and learns just how much is at stake.

Inspired by Russian folklore, The Republic of Birds is a rich middle-grade fantasy adventure for readers of Karen Foxlee, Jessica Townsend and Philip Pullman.

INTERVIEWS and REVIEWS

Leanne Hall, Readings 


Jessica Miller
About the Author

Jessica Miller is a children’s writer and PhD student from Brisbane, currently living in Germany. She has written for a variety of publications including Kill Your Darlings and Stilts. Her first novel, Elizabeth and Zenobia, was shortlisted for the Text Prize, the Readings Prize and was a CBCA Notable Book.

Read Moreright
Extent:
304pp
Format:
Paperback
Text publication date:
3 March 2020
ISBN:
9781922268044
AU Price:
$16.99
NZ Price:
$21.00
Reading age:
9+
Australian
starstarstarstarstar
starstarstarstarstar
Loading Rating
Praise for Jessica Miller
andThe Republic of Birds

‘I couldn’t have enjoyed reading this more, it’s an absolute joy.’

‘A lonely girl, a creepy house, spirit presences and long-ago mysteries—I’m completely in love with this novel.’

‘Readers will be absorbed by Elizabeth and Zenobia’s conversations, the complex and chilling plot.’

‘By the time I reached the end of the book my heart was racing and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough…a simple, good-old-fashioned scary manor mystery.’

Other editions ofThe Republic of Birds
  • The Republic of Birds
    ebook
    ISBN: 9781925774818
    3 March 2020
    Buy ebook
Other Titles byJessica Miller