Member Loginmenu
David Ireland

David Ireland was born in 1927 on a kitchen table in Lakemba in south-western Sydney. He lived in many places and worked at many jobs, including greenskeeper, factory hand, and for an extended period in an oil refinery, before he became a full-time writer.

Ireland started out writing poetry and drama but then turned to fiction. His first novel, The Chantic Bird, was published in 1968. In the next decade he published five further novels, three of which won the Miles Franklin Award: The Unknown Industrial Prisoner, The Glass Canoe and A Woman of the Future.

David Ireland was made a member of the Order of Australia in 1981. In 1985 he received the Australian Literature Society Gold Medal for his novel Archimedes and the Seagull. He died in 2022.

Titles byDavid Ireland
  • The Chantic Bird
    The Chantic Bird
    David Ireland
  • The Unknown Industrial Prisoner
    The Unknown Industrial Prisoner
    David Ireland
  • A Woman of the Future
    A Woman of the Future
    David Ireland
  • The Glass Canoe
    The Glass Canoe
    David Ireland