Member Loginmenu
The Museum of Broken Things

I didn’t always live here. Not so long ago I was living in a thriving metropolis with more than one coffee shop on each block and four full bars of reception. I went to Heathmont High School, home to one thousand students, two best friends, a deeply average orchestra, and one cursed statue. Well, allegedly.

Reece still isn’t used to living in the small beachside town of Hamilton: she misses her old school, her old friends and her old life. She can’t go back and she can’t move forward: nothing feels right anymore. Not that she’s trying very hard—she hasn’t even unpacked yet, and the only new friend she’s made is a middle-aged barista.

But when Reece inherits a strange artefact that belonged to her beloved grandmother, she begins to unravel a mystery that might change the way she feels about everything around her, including her charismatic classmate Gideon…

A lively, witty novel about letting go of the past and finding your place in the world, The Museum of Broken Things introduces a dazzling new voice in contemporary fiction.

INTERVIEWS and REVIEWS

Books + Publishing interview    
Books + Publishing review     
Readings   
Readings: Recommended YA books and news for June    
ReadPlus    

Lauren Draper
About the Author

Lauren Draper is a Melbourne-based writer and marketing professional. She is a graduate of RMIT’s Professional Writing and Editing program and now works in children’s publishing—she loves nothing more than a story infused with magic, hijinks and a touch of nostalgia. The Museum of Broken Things, her debut novel, was acquired after it was...

Read Moreright
Extent:
304pp
Format:
Paperback
Text publication date:
31 May 2022
ISBN:
9781922458537
AU Price:
$19.99
NZ Price:
$24.00
Reading age:
14+
Australian
starstarstarstarstar
starstarstarstarstar
Loading Rating
Praise for Lauren Draper
andThe Museum of Broken Things

‘A clear-eyed, absorbing and atmospheric story of loss (and love) that pulls you in, then warmly holds you there.’

‘Lauren Draper’s The Museum of Broken Things is a warm, heartfelt debut that masterfully explores the lingering pain of grief and the power of love, family and friendship.’

‘Lauren Draper’s debut YA novel immediately had me hooked…The well-crafted dialogue is filled with humour and emotion, while romance, friendship, family—and everything in between—help build our heroine’s confidence and self-worth. Fans of Nina Kenwood’s It Sounded Better in My Head and Lisa Walker’s smart and sassy character Olivia Grace will not be disappointed by Draper’s highly detailed coming-of-age mystery.’

‘Grabs your attention and emotions right from the start…A story with a lot of heart and some great humour. Highly recommended for ages 14+.’

‘[A] well-crafted story dealing with teenage friendship and romance as well as a psychological journey into grief and the struggle of dealing with trauma.’

Other editions ofThe Museum of Broken Things