Member Loginmenu

Book 2, Southside Novels

The ceasefire is barely holding. Southside waits, with a kind of hope that feels like defeat.

Then Cityside blows up the bridge.

And amid the chaos and rubble Nik and Lanya are drawn into a complex web of power, fear and betrayal.

Who is the girl found crying out from the bombed bridge? What is her connection to the secret experiments taking place at Pitkerrin Marsh? And why does she cry ‘havoc’?

But before Nik can find out he must find his father, and face the hardest decision of his life.

Jane Higgins
About the Author

Jane Higgins won the 2010 Text Prize for her debut novel The Bridge. She lives in Christchurch, New Zealand. Glimpse, her third novel for young adults, draws on her experience of the 2010–12 earthquakes, which killed 185 people and caused major damage to the city.

Read Moreright
Text publication date:
25 February 2015
AU Price:
NZ Price:
dystopia, war, disease, friendship, survival
Reading age:
Loading Rating
Praise for Jane Higgins

Havoc is urgent, moving and believable.’

‘Havoc [is] an incredible sequel that stands on its own two feet and brings a completely believable new aspect to the storyline of its predecessor.’

‘An outstanding teenage novel…World class.’

Havoc is complex and thought-provoking with themes of friendship, loyalty, corruption and warfare including the use of bioweapons.’

Havoc is a thought-provoking story of friendship, loyalty, betrayal and the desire for power at any cost.’

‘Brilliantly wrought story, the characterisation is subtle and nuanced, the moral underpinnings of the story are really something else…So moving…I burst into tears while I was reading it, it’s really beautifully done.’

‘A well-paced adventure in a world cleverly imagined.’

‘A powerful dystopian adventure about questioning authority, the complexities of war and enduring bonds.’

‘A brilliant novel with echoes of John Wyndham’s The Chrysalids, its young protagonists show heart in a world of despair.’

‘If you loved Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games series and John Marsden’s Tomorrow series, chances are you’ll love this.‘

Other editions ofHavoc
  • Havoc
    ISBN: 9781922148339
    25 February 2015
    Buy ebook