SHOP NOW—free delivery anywhere in Australia

Member Loginmenu
Your basket is empty
Apricot Jam and Other Stories

Apricot Jam and Other Stories

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Translated by Kenneth Lantz
Translated by Stephan Solzhenitsyn

A brilliant collection of stories translated for the first time into English.

First published in Russia in 1994 when Solzhenitsyn returned after years of living in exile, this is a series of nine powerfully paired stories that will secure the author’s position as not just a searing political commentator but also as a true literary giant. This collection now joins Solzhenitsyn’s already available work as some of the most powerful literature of the twentieth century.

With Soviet and post-Soviet life as their focus, these stories illustrate the Russian experience under the Soviet regime. In ‘The New Generation’, a professor promotes a dull but proletarian student purely out of good-will. Years later, the same professor finds himself arrested and, in a striking twist of fate, his student becomes his interrogator. In ‘Nastenka’, two young women with the same name lead routine, ordered lives – until the Revolution exacts radical change on them both.


Apricot Jam
The New Generation
Adlig Schwenkitten
Zhelyabuga Village
Times of Crisis
Fracture Points
No Matter What

About the Author

The most eloquent and acclaimed opponent of government oppression in the twentieth century, Solzhenitsyn was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1970, and his work continues to receive international acclaim. Through his writings, particularly The Gulag Archipelago and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, he helped to make the world aware...

Read Moreright
Text publication date:
31 October 2011
AU Price:
NZ Price:
Loading Rating
Other editions ofApricot Jam and Other Stories
  • Apricot Jam and Other Stories
    ISBN: 9781921921124
    3 October 2011
    Buy ebook