Member Loginmenu


Peter Temple

  • awardWinner, Miles Franklin Literary Award, 2010
  • awardWinner, International German Crime Prize, 2012
  • awardWinner, Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards, Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction, 2010
  • awardWinner, Australian Book Industry Awards, General Fiction Book of the Year, 2010
  • At the close of a long day, Inspector Stephen Villani stands in the bathroom of a luxury apartment high above the city. In the glass bath, a young woman lies dead, a panic button within reach.

    So begins Truth, the sequel to Peter Temple’s bestselling masterpiece, The Broken Shore, winner of the Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel.

    Villani’s life is his work. It is his identity, his calling, his touchstone. But now, over a few sweltering summer days, as fires burn across the state and his superiors and colleagues scheme and jostle, he finds all the certainties of his life are crumbling.

    Truth is a novel about a man, a family, a city. It is about violence, murder, love, corruption, honour and deceit.And it is about truth.

    Reading Australia teaching notes available here.

    Peter Temple
    About the Author

    Peter Temple is the author of nine novels, including four books in the Jack Irish series. He has won the Ned Kelly Award for Crime Fiction five times, and his widely acclaimed novels have been published in over twenty countries.

    The Broken Shore won the UK’s prestigious Duncan Lawrie Dagger for the best crime novel of 2007 and Truth won the...

    Read Moreright
    Text publication date:
    30 August 2010
    AU Price:
    NZ Price:
    Loading Rating
    Praise for Peter Temple

    ‘Temple’s characters are complex, his plots complicated, his world smudged if not outright dirty…You want a mindless beach read? Skip this. You want to be bitch-slapped into full attention by a master? Come ahead.’

    Other editions ofTruth
    • Truth
      ISBN: 9781921799174
      28 September 2009
      Buy ebook
    • Hardback
      ISBN: 9781921520914
      28 September 2009
    • Paperback
      ISBN: 9781921520716
      28 September 2009